Posted by: picanini | July 1, 2009

Estimate the time and double it

This is what my DH tells me to do – I’m terrible at estimating how long things will take. I’ve had a tutu for DD on my “to do” list for quite a while. She was given a secondhand leotard with tutu sewn on a while back with some other stuff, and it is ALWAYS  on her. She often strips down into this outfit – which is not so great in the middle of winter when you’ve had a cough for a month!

Thinking it would be done in an hour I started to make a tutu that would still allow her to be a ballerina whilst staying warm 🙂

IMG_2246

They are easy enough to make, but fiddly. It would have taken me at least 2 hours – there are 2 layers of netting sewn on. I did actually hem 3 layers, but decided that 2 was more than enough!

IMG_2250

The photograph of it on her probably isn’t the best – I didn’t “arrange” it before the photo and I probably should have. But I think I’ve also decided that it’s just a bit too full. I did wonder this when sewing it up. The waisband is gathered as well as the tulle, so I’ll just cut maybe a third of the waistband off (and the attached tulle) and make it less sticky uppy. I’ll  post back with the results.

Leave a Reply

Categories

