Posted by: picanini | August 13, 2009

My creative space

The best laid plans of mice and men often go astray 🙂 – I love that little saying. I HAD planned to have a day with some fun and colourful dyeing of both wool and bamboo. Unfortunately, sick bubba had other plans (none of which included sleeping for more than 20 minutes at a time without coughing and waking himself up)…so it was back to the kitchen table we go.

 IMG_2501

 

 

This is a gorgeous Farbenmix pattern that I bought a few weeks back, and have been wanting to get cracking on before winter ends. I first got came accross this pattern on Sara’s blog. I think I may just be able to do the majority of it on the overlocker (which is great news with both my poor sewing machines being fixed).  I think I’ll use this minky fabric – don’t you ever think it a shame that minky often faces outward from the person that’s wearing it?

The other project at the back is some pants for the bub. I’ve spent a long time trying to get the perfect pattern to fit cloth bottoms before I cut this fabric – I LOVE it!  But then I had a lot of trouble deciding which way the fabric should face when cutting these out – I hope I chose the right side up. The toy soldiers and rocking horses appear both ways I think, but the robots only face the one way. Can you tell what I mean looking at these pics (or do you just see the fabric needing an iron, like I do! And I did iron it…). It’s a cotton linen blend.

IMG_2496

IMG_2497

 

 

 

 

 

 

I do promise to be a lot more creative with my space (and photos) when winter is over and the curse of sickness has left our house for the season.

For more creative spaces, visit Kirsty

Responses

  1. Love that gorgeous minky and the cute little prints. Happy overlocking!

  2. Aren’t the robots gorgeous.

  3. Oh dear! I hope your little one improves soon! Love the fabric! The pants will look gorgeous!

  4. I love that phrase too! 🙂 The robot fabric is fantastic.


Leave a Reply

Categories

