Posted by: picanini | September 1, 2009

I’ve been a little distracted…

Poor, poor blog. There’s a new kid on the block, and you get neglected.

My new store opened! Come have a look – Picanini It’s still in the process of being put together, but I really needed some kind of kick up the backside to make it happen, and sponsoring the nappy hunt was a way of achieving that. I don’t have nearly as much stock up as I would like – BOTH my sewing machines deciding they needed a good rest and overhaul (taking almost 3 weeks) wasn’t exactly part of the plan. But it’s there, and it’s a start! I will have to have some kind of online giveaway…so keep your eye out.

And just so I don’t leave you without something to look at – I’ve got a bit of parcel love to show off. Granted, it’s not really spectacular to look at. I had to leave the brown paper packaging there (no string though, sorry!) – I love brown paper packages. Connotations of favourite things – I’m sure you know the song.  But they do remind me of my childhood…did they even have any other way of sending parcels then?

IMG_2581

It’s a french curve ruler – used in pattern drafting. The lovely Tracey (I think I’ve talked about her earlier) put me onto Enid Gilchrist – an Aussie pattern maker. Tracey has a blogged about her love of Enid here. And since I’ve joined the crafty mamas, I’ve found there are alot of other Enid lovers around! The old magazine I have of hers is quite inspiring and helpful with altering patterns I already have. And there is a wealth of information on how to draft your own patterns.

Leave a Reply

Categories

