Posted by: picanini | March 31, 2010

Softie challenge

This months challenge for the 12 sewing challenges in 12 months was a softie. I really wanted to do this challenge, as I’ve never made a softie. I have to confess that I kinda cheated. I was thinking about doing Dear Fi’s Baby Perle’s, but I just didn’t have enough time (or felt in the right colour). Instead I went for this.

It is made from one of Kristen Doran’s Matroyshka craft panels (she had a beautiful blog listed on my side bar). I confess I thought it would be easy peasy, but it wasn’t as easy as I thought. The actual sewing was, but stuffing the thing to look neat and getting the sems all lined up neatly were another story. I think I’ll try tracing the edge of the design on the wrong side (using a window to see them) so I can make my side seams neater by having a line to follow.

It’s not perfect, but it’s a start! And it beats the fabric sitting in my stash for 3 years – yipes! I looked at the selvedge which said it was printed in 2008. Now I need to make some cushions with the print and finish the rest of the dollies.

Responses

  1. Yah! So glad you pulled it out and got sewing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

