Posted by: picanini | April 2, 2010

Happy Easter!

The Sunshine Coast has been living up to its name this weekend – absolutely beautiful days,  perfect weather for camping . We didn’t make any plans to go away, as usually it seems to rain at Easter. I probably would have had to drag the rest of the family away kicking and screaming anyway because of the chooks. The kids spent a good deal of time with them today (lucky chookies, LOL). Ruby had lunch with them.

While the kids were outside in the morning, I got to work on some Hot Cross Buns – mmmm. The cross didn’t work so well, but they were tasty.

And for Ruby and Finn, some gluten and dairy free biscuits. These are supposed to look like Easter eggs! The recipe is from the “Friendly Foods” cookbook (put out by the RPA allergy unit and an absolute lifesaver for us in the early months of Ruby’s life when we were muddling through it all).

They helped decorate (and eat along the way!).

Also, completed the washing of the dyeing I started on Thursday.

A very soft rayon -polyester knit found in the remnant bin at Spotlight (a bargain at $1/m)

This piece is just calico – leftover from table covering for the wedding. I bought some yellow procion dye a while back and had planned to use it mottling with some blue. But upon seeing the colour of the dye wasn’t sure it was something I wanted to experiment with on my good fabrics. I’m glad I followed my instincts – I decided it was just a bit too orangey yellow for my liking in contrast with the blue…so I added LOTS of blue over it and now have a lagoony green colour with blue.

And yesterday I got to work on sewing this up – Ruby’s Imke. Starting with just something basic to feel out the pattern. I think the next one might be a bit more adventurous.

And some leggings. Both of these are from the fabulous Sewing clothes Kids Love book.

Hems and the pants waistband to be finished still.

I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend with your family and/or friends.

Responses

  1. Those buns look really good! What kind of flour did you use?

    • Hi Therese,
      I’m sorry to say that only the Easter Bikkies are gluten and dairy free – the easter buns are made of ordinary wheat flour. I did make easter buns last year with some ogran plain flour and nuttlex (a dairy free alternative to butter) and they looked and tasted ok. I didn’t bother this year as I’m not on the gluten and dairy free diet anymore (I was only on it as I was breastfeeding Finnlay who has gluten and dairy allergies) and I thought the littlies would prefer the biscuits over easter buns.

  2. That’s quite all right. 🙂 In any case, you’ve inspired me to work on my own. So thanks anyway!

  3. Yummmo! Your imke and leggings look great. They’re both on my to do list. Once Heather stops screaming


Leave a Reply

Categories

