Posted by: picanini | July 8, 2010

My creative space…

has some exciting new fabrics. Don’t you just love the possibilities?!

These 3 prints were bought specifically with pads in mind – some local love there in the middle (Saffron Craig).  The 2 on the left were purchased at Funky Fabrix.

Last Saturday, the planets lined up – my cousin had a baby shower for her first bubba due soon, in the afternoon in Brissie, my parents in law were up visiting from Sydney for a week, and no soccer for Gannon (we are a one car family). Escaping for a whole day away hasn’t been a possibility up till recently (and even if it was, leaving DH alone with the kids for the WHOLE DAY saw him hyperventilating), but it didn’t make sense to drive an hour to Brissie and an hour back without squishing a whole lot more stuff in. So I made a list, plotted my path to the final destination, kissed the family goodbye and hit the fabric shops. I had planned another visit to Tangled Yarns as well, but alas, time, traffic and a 5 year old street directory was not on my side.

And see, I did think of my kids. Some of these Kokka prints will be sure to feature in their clothing. Most of the fabric I bought from Peppermint Stitches. I don’t know that they do much in the way of web sales, but if you’re ever in Brissie – it’s worth stopping as they’re fantastic! I first found them at the Stitches and Craft show last year.

As soon as I saw this, I thought it must be made into a pillowcase style dress for Ruby. Not that she’ll wear it, if the current trend continues (Oriental Lily is still yet, unworn!).

This for the stash – I think it would be perfect for pads, but people don’t seem to like reds and oranges for these products?! 

And some embroidered shot taffeta at a Spotlight for a ridiculous $8 a metre to clear. Ruby will LOVE a skirt made out of this (as long as I don’t tell her I made it -I’ve hidden the fabric away!).

I had fun catching up with the extended family too at the baby shower – didn’t get home till after 6! And lovely MIL had made dinner too.

For your weekly dose of creativity, go visit Kirsty.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a lovely lovely day. And a gorgeous haul of colours and patterns. Happy sewing.

  2. You have an amazing stash of fabric here! I am keen to see what happens with it. I am getting more and more inspired to try again to be friends with my sewing machine.. Peta


Leave a Reply

Categories

