Posted by: picanini | July 16, 2010

Skirting around the issue…part II

Mad Quilter draft it yourself 8 gored skirt finished. I’m quite pleased with this skirt, but think  next time I might get a bit more adventurous and make the waist fitted and put in a zip (this one is made with a gathered elastic waistband).

Thanks Tracy – this is a great tutorial!

And the Patty young inspired “Yoga skirt”.

I’ve made something similar to this before, and it actually turned out better I think. I’m not sure if that was cause I used quilters cotton rather than this decorator weight Amy Butler fabric from the stash. I used the tutorial on Sew, mama, Sew by Patty Young for this one I’ve just made.

Each time I’ve made these skirts (I made one to wear on the honeymoon), they’ve been too stretchy and big around the waist despite measuring carefully – I followed Patty’s formula to the “t”, this time (the last one I just made it up as I went along and hacked more out when it didn’t fit)  but it was still too big. Each time I’ve used a cotton/elastine fabric for the waistband too, so I’m wondering if the elastine makes it too stretchy.  So, I’ll have to go and unpick and hack away at this one before I’m satisfied.

Responses

  1. Love them both. Love the fabric combo in the second.


Leave a Reply

Categories

