Posted by: picanini | August 20, 2010

Baby boys…

are something I know a little bit about, having had 3 of them. So it was with much joy I heard the exciting news, and embarked on some little outfits for a couple of tiny boys recently born to people I know.  For me, baby clothes must practical and easy to get on and off, as well as cute. No zippers or buttons on the back – who wants to be holding a baby with a big head and no neck control forward while you try and do them up? And it wouldn’t be very comfy to be a bubba and lie around on those things either. As for cute, well – I think I have the fabric for that.

The outfit

Front of pants

Back - see it's got a wider mid panel for the bottom

Outfit number 2

Close up of top

The 2nd top was made of a rib knit, which I confess was a bit scary to sew with – veeeery streeeeetchy. But I love the fabric so much (it is from the children’s book “Guess how much I love you“, I decided to give it a try.

Patterns are from Ottobre 1/09 – Nuppu wraparound jacket and “Nunnu” knit pants.

Oh, and both the new boys received a one size pocket nappy  as well.  This pattern has been on the drafting board on and off for quite some time  (though not recently). I need to remember where I was with it!

Responses

  1. Cute outfits! I really like the first one.

  2. So CUte!

  3. Really cute 🙂

  4. Being the recipient of one nappy and one outfit photographed above; can I just say how much I LOVE them?

    You will get an official thank you note, but until that’s done please know that I absolutely love both the outfit and the nappy and will have a photograph to you of little D wearing both as soon as I can.

    You are an absolute treasure, K, thank you for being so generous and thinking of us.

    S, B & D xoxo

  5. that is so cute!!! 🙂 i reckon i’ll be sewing a few of these up too. 😀 thanks for reminding me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

