Posted by: picanini | October 4, 2010

Today I am thankful

I was reminded of just how privillidged I am today. I’d just finished a yoga class at my new gym, and as I was leaving, overheard a piece of advice being given from the desk to someone “Scoop the middle of the bread roll out so you consume less calories”. I’m carrying a few extra kg’s myself and am not in any position to scoff at someone’s attempt to lose weight. But as I was driving home the thought of someone deliberately wasting food got me thinking – thinking about the crazy situation of Westerners deliberately throwing out food to loose weight while millions die each day of starvation. I try not to throw out food in our house, but it does sometimes happen when I miss something in the fridge. I guess it was the intention to throw something  perfectly good out that got me thinking…

Home baked bread rolls

I had a bit of a chat to 4 year old Ruby when we got about how some people in the world don’t have enough to eat – and that many die because of it. Dh and I both grew up with the images of starving children in Ethiopia on the news (and the guilt from our parents when we didn’t finish our meals). I didn’t bring it up with the aim of making her feel guilty – but more in order to help her realise how lucky she is.

But she’s not the only one who needs to learn some perspective in life.

I am thankful that my family have a warm bed and a safe and dry place to sleep each night. I am thankful that we have clean water to drink  and a bountiful supply of food to never need to be hungry. I am thankful that my family are all in good health. 

There are so many other things that I personally have to be thankful for – I don’t want to bore you. I just sometimes need a reminder when my day hasn’t gone to plan about how lucky I am compared to so many others!

I’m sure tommorrow I’ll be back to my normal self absorbed sewing self in posting. I guess having to blog each day in blogtober means I have to talk about things other than my sewing!

Responses

  1. I totally agree with you and we all need constant reminders that we “have” so much!
    Your bread rolls look delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

