Posted by: picanini | October 8, 2010

I should be…

Doing a rolled hem on my nieces skirt so it’s finished.

Dyeing some fabric for a Brooklyn singlet top for the same niece – as my local spotlight didn’t have the colour cotton/elastin I needed.

Folding 2 baskets of washing.

There  are of course lots of other things I’d like to be doing… BUT I’m too tired. I shouldn’t leave writing blog posts till late at night but I don’t want to miss a day…

Instead I  will sit like a blob in a chair for a little longer and maybe work on my Olearia.  I’ve been to the gym twice today – one for a complimentary program that you get joining said new gym at 8am thismorning. The other for my yoga class this afternoon. I am tired!

But, I can’t leave you without a pic. Here is something I worked on yesterday. I’ve had this old tablecloth sitting in my “to recycle” pile for quite some time, with a little shrug for Ruby in mind. I recently saw something similar to what I’d envisaged on Kirsty’s blog, which put it back on the top of the list.

It received the desired reaction – a loud and deep intake of breath before exclamations about it’s beauty. It still needs to have a run under the machine to stitch over some raw cut edges at the front, but that’ll only take 5 minutes. Oh, and the overlocked threads woven in. I used and slightly altered the Brooklyn shrug pattern from the Sewing Clothes Kids Love book.

Leave a Reply

Categories

