Posted by: picanini | February 1, 2012

UFO’s aplenty…

Unfinished object, that is of course.

This, I’m embarrassed to say is a gift for a very dear long – time friend’s little girl that turned 1 several months back. I started it quite a while back, then stopped due to not having a matching binding fabric. I eventually got to Spotlight back down at the Sunshine Coast and got some “stripe” fabric to make some matching binding. The binding making, then putting it all together kept getting pushed back in favour of other more pressing issues (ballet concert, Christmas)…and finally I finished it today. It’s made from a lovely light Japanese cotton Lawn.

It’s a mish-mash of different Ottobre patterns that I’ve cobbled together. I don’t like putting buttons or snaps on baby’s backs – so I decided to add ribbons. I figure it can be slipped over the head with all but the top ribbon done up (yes, I think of practical things like that!).

Several times I thought about just buying something for the little lady, but for some reason I just wanted to make something. As I was attaching the binding, I remembered a little something about my friend and her mum, which may have subconsciously  been my motivation for making rather than buying.

My first ever visit to a proper fabric shop (it was Lindcraft), was with this GF and her mum. It was a bit of a journey – it was a bit over an hour’s drive away up to the “big smoke” (Wollongong). My mum isn’t really into crafting, and I can remember my excitment and amazement at this fabulous shop with such a huge range – I was in awe. My GF lost her mum to cancer in her last year of school. She was such an amazing woman that was full of life, and I feel my friend’s loss keenly on such special occasions such as a significant birthday like this one was. I think that’s why a bought gift just wouldn’t satisfy me.

Other UFO’s are some pads I discovered while doing a big tidy and re-organisation of my fabric spare room. They were all finished bar the snaps.

I’ll list them shortly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

